You are here

Who We Are

Office of Sustainability Staff

Gretchen LaCombe Vanicor
Director of Sustainability
Office (337) 482-0053

As the University's first Director of Sustainability, Gretchen works closely with the Office of the President and the President's Council on Sustainability to identify and prioritize areas for campus-wide sustainability efforts, plan and develop strategies to reduce energy and material consumption, and engage university leaders to improve sustainability broadly across campus units. She also serves as the campus spokesperson on sustainability issues.  Gretchen earned a bachelor’s degree in management with a double major in marketing from McNeese State University in 2006. She also earned bachelor's and master’s degrees in architecture from UL Lafayette in 2008 and 2010, respectively. Gretchen returned to UL Lafayette in January 2014 after working in the local architecture industry.

Blair Begnaud
Office of Sustainability Graduate Student Intern

Blair develops material for the Office's webpage, manages the Office's social media pages, performs benchmark research, and organizes special projects. She earned her bachelor's degree in architecture from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and is currently working towards attaining her master's degree in architecture.

Lauren Lambert
Office of Sustainability Graduate Student Intern

Lauren works under the Office of Community Service and the Office of Sustainability. She helps organize special outreach projects and events such as The Big Event, Earth Week, and Soul Camp. She earned her bachelor's degree in architecture from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette and is currently working towards attaining her master's degree in architecture.

Ivy Thibodeaux
Office of Sustainability Student Assistant and Geaux Vélo Bike Manager

Ivy is working towards attaining his bachelor's degree in civil engineering. As the Geaux Vélo Bike Manager, Ivy is in charge of Geaux Vélo bike maintenance and trip records. In addition, he helps manage day-to-day operations including Geaux R.E.D. and E-Cycle recycling programs on campus. He also performs benchmark research and assists in special projects. 


President's Council on Sustainability

The President's Council on Sustainability is a campus-wide advisory body that helps guide the university's efforts to integrate environmental sustainability into campus life, including operations, educational programs, research, and community outreach by facilitating awareness of sustainability issues and the promotion of individual responsibility for reducing the University’s impact on the environment.

Council Members

Chair: Whitney Broussard, Institute for Coastal Ecology and Engineering (ICEE)

Griff Blakewood, SPEAK Advisor/ Renewable Resources

Cherie Soileau, Transportation Services

Aimee Bullinger, Communications and Marketing

Lisa Broussard, Nursing

Bill Crist, Facilities Management

Julie Falgout, UL Foundation

Gene Fields, Information Technology

Keith Foreman, Sodexo Dining Services

Geoff Gjertson, BeauSoleil Advisor/Architecture

Jacques Henry, Sociology/Anthropology

Mike Hess, Facilities Management (Grounds)

Jordan Jenkins, SPEAK Student Member

Terry Jenkins, Facilities Management (Environmental Systems)

Lisa Landry, Housing

Liz Landry, President’s Office

Andy Loewy, Architecture

Benjamin Magallon, Office of Sustainability Graduate Student Intern

Michael McClure, Architecture

Beatrice Michot, Civil Engineering

Thomas Michot, Civil Engineering

Amy Milanovich, Career Services

Brooke Plaisance, Student Government Association Representative

Sara Ritchey, History/Geography

Tom Sammons, Campus Planning Committee/Architecture

Karl Volkmar, Visual Arts

David Yarbrough, Community Service

Sammi Zapata, University College